Weezer Surprises Us with Cover LP ‘The Teal Album’

Weezer surprises us all with a the ultimate cover song collection.

While we all wait for The Black Album to drop, the band is helping us contain our restlessness by tying us over with this surprise release full of covers LP, The Teal Album.

The Teal Album – which has been released weeks before the anticipated The Black Album– features songs they performed during their summer 2018 tour, including a-ha’s “Take on Me” and the Turtles’ “Happy Together.” The LP visits numerous time period and includes a variety of genres with songs like Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World,” the Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This),” Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean”, Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid”,  Electric Light Orchestra’s “Mr. Blue Sky”,  Ben E. King’s “Stand By Me”, TLC’s “No Scrubs” and, naturally, their interpretation of Toto’s “Africa.”

We are expecting The Black Album to be released on March 1st, where they will later kickoff a Spring U.S. Tour with the Pixies in Louisville, Kentucky.



Post and Featured Image Credit: (Photo by Scott Dudelson/Getty Images)


There is no custom code to display.